School Curriculum

Sanderson Middle School’s curriculum at Years 7, 8 and 9 is based on the Australian National Curriculum. The implementation of the Australian Curriculum includes a wide range of experiences that cater for individual interests and abilities.

Students access meaningful and relevant learning opportunities through a range of options and extended units of study complemented by excursions and camps.

Students are supported through a pastoral and wellbeing focus. Core Subject Teachers and Year Level Coordinators are also a primary source of contact for wellbeing for each student. Years 7 and 8, students remain with the same teacher all year for core subjects in explicit learning blocks. Other curriculum subjects are offered by specialist teachers. As the senior students in a middle school program, Year 9 students are offered a range of leadership opportunities, vocational learning and a careers and transition program that prepares them for the change to the senior stages of schooling (Years 10 – 12).

In Years 7, 8 and 9 students engage in a rigorous student centred program based on the four core subjects of:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences

In addition, students will be offered choices from a range of other subjects including:

  • Music, Band and Choir
  • Multimedia and Visual Arts
  • Drama and Dance
  • Languages (Japanese and Indigenous)
  • Food Design and Technology
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Materials Design (Woodwork and Metal Work)
  • Information Technology


In Years 7 – 9 each child will produce set work that demonstrates evidence of achievement of the set standards in the Australian Curriculum.

Each student will also participate in ACER Academic testing twice a year in Maths and Reading in each year level.

At the end of each semester, reports are prepared and posted home.

Year 7 and 9 students will participate in the National Assessment Program (NAPLAN).